Skip to main content

Weezer: 8Track

8Track with Guest DJs Pat Wilson and Rivers Cuomo of Weezer

8Track with guest DJs Pat Wilson and Rivers Cuomo of Weezer



Weezer has crafted some of the finest power pop records of the past two and a half decades. This year, the new album OK Human found the band building on the hooks of frontman Rivers Cuomo with the support of a 38-piece orchestra, but for "8Track," we got to hear what other sounds are inspiring them.

Just after the album's release, Rivers and drummer Pat Wilson joined me for a “two music fans” version of the show. They each picked four songs, which made for some pretty diverse selections and surprising segues, along with a chance to hear great stories from Weezer's early days.

Listen in the player above, and for more "8Track," subscribe to the 8Track podcast.

Featured Songs:

  • Randy Newman - "Louisiana 1927" (Rivers)
  • Bon Iver - "Skinny Love" (Pat)
  • John Prine - "Sweet Revenge" (Rivers)
  • Dua Lipa - "Don't Start Now" (Pat)
  • Stevie Wonder - "All in Love is Fair" (Rivers)
  • Van Halen - "Sinner's Swing" (Pat)
  • Loretta Lynn - "Fist City" (Rivers)
  • DJ Shadow - "Changeling" (Pat)

[Recorded: 2/17/21; Engineer: Jim O'Hara; Producer: Sarah Wardrop; Theme music: Caroline Rose]