Skip to main content

UKNY For October 6

Bombay Bicycle Club (photo by Josh Shinner, PR)

Bombay Bicycle Club (photo by Josh Shinner, PR)


After a three-year hiatus, London's Bombay Bicycle Club, who return to New York this week for two shows at Brooklyn Steel on October 7 (sold out) and 8 (tix still avalaible), will release their fifth album, Everything Else Has Gone Wrong, on January 17. Their exuberantly elastic new single might be my earworm of 2019 — and I'll get to it again (it's become a habit) on UKNY at 11 tonight.

Also, beautiful releases from Victoria Hume, Sweden's Sumie, Irish-born, Spain-raised and London-based Biig Piig (the songwriter Jess Smyth), and Joviale, who recently releaed her first EP, Crisis. Busan, South Korea's Say Sue Me will tour North America for the first time this December (including a set at Brooklyn's Baby's All Right on December 6) and the shimmering reverb rush of their songs reel back the calendar 25 years, recalling fragments of Belly or Slowdive, and contemporary "surfgaze" bands, like Best Coast.

Much more planned, including the ten-piece contemporary jazz collective SEED Ensemble, shortlisted for the Mercury Prize this year for their debut album, Driftglass, and the epic centerpiece from that album that draws from the poetry of Langston Hughes for a moving elegy.

UKNY airs 11 p.m. to midnight on Sundays, also available on demand via FUV's Weekend Archives.

Songs played:

1. Elbow, “Empires,” Giants of All Sizes
2. Biig Piig, “Roses and Gold,” single
3. Joviale, “Taste of the Heavens,” Crisis EP
4. Thyla, “Two Sense,” single
5. (Toronto, CA) Holy F**k feat. Alexis Taylor, “Luxe (radio edit),” Deleter
6. Bombay Bicycle Club, “Eat Sleep Wake (Nothing But You),” Everything Else Has Gone Wrong
7. Black Country, New Road, “Sunglasses,” single
8. (Busan, KR) Say Sue Me, “Good People,” single
9. Anna Meredith, “Inhale/Exhale,” Fibs
10. (Gothenberg, SE) Sumie, “Moon,” Mirou EP
11. Victoria Hume, “Desert,” single
12. (Los Angeles, US) Sudan Archives, “Confessions,” Athena
13. SEED Ensemble, “Wake (for Grenfell),” Driftglass