Skip to main content

UKNY for August 29

TSHA (photo by Annie Reid, PR)

TSHA (photo by Annie Reid, PR)


London producer TSHA, real name Teisha Matthews, has been steadily building toward the release of a debut album with the release of last year's Flowers EP and her latest EP, OnlyL, out now on Ninja Tune. Her effusive production, cleverly entwining samples with her own propulsive dynamics, yearns for a time when heading out to a club wasn't fraught with health risks and uncertainty. On tonight's "UKNY" at 11, one of the three tracks found on TSHA's latest boost for anyone missing a dance floor.

The band once known as British Sea Power has chosen to edit their name to Sea Power, to skirt any nationalistic connotations, and they've got a new album on the horizon too; we'll hear something from that majestic upcoming release, Everything Was Forever. Rebecca Lucy Taylor, who was once upon a time one half of the duo Slow Club, has also taken a very different solo trajectory as Self Esteem and her second album, Prioritise Pleasure, ascends solidly as alternative pop with a lot to say about sex and love.

Also in the mix: more Welsh pop magic via Omaloma; American duo Gone to Color taps Massive Attack and Tricky alumna Martina Topley-Bird for a collaboration; London's Weird Milk tease their new EP, We Were Strangers; and another track from Sydney's The Nagging Doubts and their beautiful EP, Autocalm.

That's "UKNY," Sundays from 11 p.m.-midnight, on 90.7, streaming online and in the Weekend Archives after broadcast.

Songs played:

1. Sea Power, “Two Fingers (radio edit),” Everything Was Forever
2. Wasuremono, “Eating Up the Sky,” Let’s Talk Pt. 2
3. Laura Mvula, “Before the Dawn,” Pink Noise
4. FUR, “When You Walk Away, Pt 1,” When You Walk Away
5. Self Esteem, “Prioritise Pleasure,” Prioritise Pleasure
6. TSHA, “Power,” OnlyL EP
7. (Atlanta and Washington D.C.,US-London, UK) Gone to Color feat. Martina Topley-Bird, “Dissolved,” Gone to Color
8. Weird Milk, “Vienna,” We Were Strangers EP
9. Josef K “Chance Meeting (Postcard Single Version),” Young and Stupid
10. Vanishing Twin, “Phase One Million (radio edit),” Ookii Gekkou
11. Omaloma “Cool ac yn Rad,” single
12. (Sydney, AU) The Nagging Doubts, “Marine,” Autocalm EP
13. Penelope Isles, “Sailing Still,” Which Way to Happy