Skip to main content

Lucius - CMJ Showcase - 2013



Kicking off FUV Live at CMJ with a warm, effusive set that fit perfectly with the waning afternoon sun, Lucius were in a celebratory mood, marking the release day of their debut album, Wildewoman. Although they began with a sweetly mellifluous cover of the Beatles' "Free As A Bird," the balance of Lucius' eight-song set was pulled from their new album and their 2012 self-titled EP. The tour de force double vocals of Holly Laessig and Jess Wolfe, sporting blonde bobs and mod, Mary Quant-like emerald jackets and minidresses, are Lucius' secret weapon, wielded with aplomb on songs like the percussive juggernaut of "Genevieve" and "Turn It Around" or the shimmering, harmonized heights of "How Loud Your Heart Gets."

Set List:

  • Free As A Bird (cover)
  • Don't Just Sit There
  • Genevieve
  • Tempest
  • How Loud Your Heart Gets
  • Wildewoman
  • Go Home
  • Turn It Around

Funding for WFUV's ongoing coverage of live concerts and festivals comes from The Agnes Varis Trust, supporting affordable access to the arts, education and healthcare.