Skip to main content

Jesse Malin: Berlin 2019

Jesse Malin and band at Berlin (photo by Gus Philippas for WFUV)

Jesse Malin and band at Berlin (photo by Gus Philippas for WFUV)



Jesse Malin is the rare artist whose music feels intimately connected to New York City. Listening to this Queens-born musician, in a similar way as you'd listen to Lou Reed and the Ramones, gives insight and perspective into the city, celebrating it in an unfussy way.

While still a kid in his early teens, Malin played his first gigs at joints like CBGB, making his first mark on the local music scene as leader of the hardcore trio Heart Attack. Another one of Malin's notable bands, D Generation, mixed punk and glam to great effect on three albums in the Nineties; they had a welcome comeback three years ago with the release of Nothing Is Anywhere.

In 2002, Malin began a solo career with the brilliantly titled The Fine Art Of Self Destruction. For his eighth solo album, Sunset Kids, released in late August of this year, Malin collaborated with co-producer Lucinda Williams, who also sings on a few of the songs.

This FUV Live show captures Malin and his band in excellent form, marking the release of the album at Berlin, a.k.a. Berlin Under A, his own intimate club in the East Village.


  • Brooklyn
  • Chemical Heart
  • Shining Down
  • Do You Really Wanna Know
  • Meet Me at the End of the World Again
  • Room 13
  • Shane
  • When You're Young
  • If I Should Fall From Grace With God (Pogues cover)
  • She Don't Love Me Now
  • Revelations
  • You Know It's Dark When Atheists Start to Pray

[Recorded: 9/5/19; Engineers: Hear No Evil and Jim O'Hara; Producer: Sarah Wardrop]