Skip to main content

Charly Bliss: Rockwood Music Hall 2019

Charly Bliss at Rockwood Music Hall (photo by Gus Philippas/WFUV)

Charly Bliss at Rockwood Music Hall (photo by Gus Philippas/WFUV)



When I first heard the Nineties-throwback indie rock vibe of Charly Bliss, I was instantly a fan. The songs on their debut album, Guppy, were so strong and hooky, it was easy to connect with them. But rather than simply make Guppy Part II, the band — singer and guitarist Eva Hendricks, drummer (and Eva's brother) Sam Hendricks, guitarist Spencer Fox, and bassist Dan Shure — built on the foundation they had set for themselves while embracing their love of pop music.

The new album, Young Enough, an FUV New Dig, features the essence of great pop music: lyrics that cover life, love, and relationships with music that makes you move, dance, and sing along. All of those elements — along with plenty of heart and emotion — came into play when the band performed at Rockwood Music Hall for WFUV Marquee members.

Have a listen to this really special show with a band that is clearly coming into its own.


  • Blown To Bits
  • Percolator
  • Heaven
  • Under You
  • Camera
  • Fighting In The Dark
  • Young Enough
  • Bleach
  • Glitter
  • Hurt Me
  • Hard To Believe
  • Capacity
  • Chatroom

[Recorded: 5/23/19; Engineers: Hear No Evil and Jim O'Hara; Producer: Sarah Wardrop]