Skip to main content

Robert Plant Shares First Single From Forthcoming Album


Robert Plant will release his first album in four years, lullaby and ...The Ceaseless Roar, on September 9 and the veteran rocker will release the first single, "Rainbow," tomorrow, June 24, digitally. The track, a breezy mid-tempo ballad, is streaming now. There's also a trailer for the album, released via Nonesuch/Warner Brothers, below, in which Plant describes the impetus—apparently of life and creating music—as the "fragile adventure you set out upon unknowingly and unwittingly."

Lullaby and ... The Ceaseless Roar, was produced by Plant, recorded in England and includes 11 new songs, nine of which are originals written by the singer and his band, the Sensational Shape Shifters. Plant calls the collection of songs "celebratory" and a mix of "Trance meets Zep."

"I have been around awhile and I ask myself, do I have anything to say? Is there a song still inside me? In my heart? I see life and what's happening to me. Along the trail there are expectations, disappointments, happiness, questions and strong relationships," says Plant. "Now I'm able to express my feelings through melody, power and trance; together in a kaleidescope of sound, colour, and friendship."

The album can be pre-ordered via Plant's website now (and fans will receive an instant download of "Rainbow.") He will be touring the States later this year as well, including two autumn dates at the Brooklyn Academy of Music, September 27 and 28, as part of "Nonesuch Records At BAM: Celebrating 50 Years of the Label Without Labels." A full tour itinerary will be announced shortly.

lullaby and... The Ceaseless Roar Tracklistng:
1. Little Maggie (Trad. arr. by Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
2. Rainbow (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Tyson)
3. Pocketful of Golden (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Camara/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
4. Embrace Another Fall (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Camara/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
5. Turn It Up (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
6. A Stolen Kiss (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Tyson)
7. Somebody There (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
8. Poor Howard *
9. House of Love (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
10. Up on the Hollow Hill (Understanding Arthur) (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Tyson)
11. Arbaden (Maggie's Babby) (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Camara/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)

*All songs published by Sons of Einion Ltd and administered by WB Music Corp (ASCAP) except "Poor Howard" [Plant/Adams/Baggott/Camara/Fuller/Tyson], which is derived from "Po' Howard" [Ledbetter ("Lead Belly"), A. Lomax and J. Lomax Sr.] and is published by Global Jukebox Publishing (BMI) and Folkways Music Publishers.