Skip to main content

Margo Price: Newport Folk 2018

Margo Price at the Newport Folk Festival (photo by Adam Kissick/NPR)

Margo Price at the Newport Folk Festival (photo by Adam Kissick/NPR)


John Prine was not even on the bill at Newport, but he stepped out on stage to introduce Margo Price. The set just got better from there.

Price puts nothing less than truth and real life into her songs and performances. That authenticity is what Newport Folk Festival is all about. Price's songs are rich narratives and her band can rock, twang, and shuffle like few others. For the main stage set, she drew from her two albums and recent EP, keeping the storytelling and energy high.

You can listen to Price's performance anytime below. It will also air on WFUV tonight, just after 6 p.m. EST, as we wish her luck at the Grammys.


  • "Tennessee Song"
  • "Don't Say It"
  • "Do Right By Me"
  • "Cocaine Cowboys"
  • "All American Made (Keys)"
  • "In Spite of Ourselves" feat. John Prine
  • "Four Years Of Chances"
  • "Long Live the King"
  • "Nine To Five" feat. Brandi Carlile
  • "Paper Cowboy"
  • "Outro (Roses)"

[Recorded: 7/27/18; See more Newport Folk Festival coverage from WFUV and NPR Music.]

NPR Music Credits: Technical Director - Josh Rogosin; Production Assistant - Téa Mottolese; Location Recording facilities provided by Aura-Sonic, Ltd.; Producer - Suraya Mohamed; Photography - Adam Kissick. Special thanks to TuneIn's Newport Folk Radio.