Listener Supported Public Media from Fordham University

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Tunein
  • YouTube
  • Flickr
  • Syndicate content

FUV's New Dig

Once a week we pick a new release and dig into it, on the air and online.

FUV's New Dig: Death Cab For Cutie

by Darren DeVivo
Death Cab For Cutie

Death Cab For Cutie

Change is inevitable. We’ve all experienced different degrees of change. While some embrace change, others are distressed by it. Death Cab for Cutie has seen some significant changes since their last album, 2011's Codes and Keys, and those seismic shifts inspired the group's brand new collection, Kintsugi. Over the past four years, Ben Gibbard, Death Cab for Cutie’s lead singer and guitarist, weathered a divorce from his wife, the actress and singer Zooey Deschanel. In 2013, founding member Chris Walla announced that he was leaving the band. Although Walla did contribute to the Kintsugi sessions, the band faces a future that no longer includes its lead guitarist and longtime producer. Although Kintsugi marks a last glance at Death Cab for Cutie as a quartet (for the moment), the album offers remaining members Gibbard, Nick Harmer and Jason McGerr a solid foundation as they look to the band's next phase.

FUV's New Dig: Courtney Barnett

by Darren DeVivo
Courtney Barnett (courtesy of the artist)

Sometimes I Sit And Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit
Courtney Barnett
Mom + Pop

Every so often, a new artist comes around who demands your attention. Such was the case in 2013, when Courtney Barnett’s superb single “Avant Gardener," found on her second EP and included on the compilation, The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas, declared the arrival of an exciting new voice. This week, the Melbourne, Australia native unveils her first full-length album, Sometimes I Sit And Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit

As a musician, Barnett is hard to quickly describe. She is a brilliant lyricist and writes in a style that is both eloquent and street-wise. She has a knack for taking ordinary events and turning them into intriguing melodramas. She is wickedly witty and pens songs that brim with humor and fun, as well as angst and drama. Sometimes I Sit And Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit is an invigorating, edgy rock album, abundant with Barnett's detailed thoughts, opinions, and candid observations.

FUV's New Dig: Matthew E. White

by Darren DeVivo
Matthew E. White (photo by Shawn Brackbill, courtesy of the artist)

Fresh Blood
Matthew E. White
Domino Records

Singer, songwriter and producer Matthew E. White has worn many eclectic musical hats in his brief career, ranging from record company executive (his own Spacebomb Records) to bandleader of an improvisatory jazz band, Fight the Big Bull. But it's White's solo work that has brought him the most widespread acclaim, beginning with his solo debut, 2012's Big Inner, and now his sophomore effort, Fresh Blood. It's a bold, polished album that manages to be both subtle and sweeping in scope.

FUV's New Dig: Brandi Carlile

by Darren DeVivo
Brandi Carlile (photo: David McClister)

The Firewatcher’s Daughter
Brandi Carlile
ATO Records

Brandi Carlile might be approaching the tenth anniversary of her self-titled debut album, but her fifth and latest studio effort, The Firewatcher's Daughter, shows this ambitious singer and songwriter's ongoing evolution as an artist and a person. Over the past three years, since the release of 2012's Bear Creek, Carlile has gotten married (her wife, Catherine Shepherd, is a former charity coordinator for Paul McCartney) and the couple became parents last year. Carlile's longtime bandmates and collaborators Tim and Phil Hanseroth—aka "The Twins"—have also started their own families. This strong sense of family has deeply influenced The Firewatcher’s Daughter, a collection of songs dwelling on ideas of home and companionship.

FUV's New Dig: Elle King

by Darren DeVivo
Elle King (courtesy RCA Records, photo by Shane McCauley)

Love Stuff
Elle King
RCA Records

Elle King's time has finally come. Nearly three years after releasing The Elle King EP, this powerhouse singer has unleashed her mighty voice on the masses with a ferocious full-length debut album, Love Stuff. It's a brash and bold introduction to an artist who really impressed us at the FUV Live at CMJ showcase at Rockwood Music Hall last fall.

FUV's New Dig: José González

by Darren DeVivo

Vestiges & Claws
José González

Imperial Recordings/Mute Records

Swedish singer, songwriter and guitarist José González has split his attention in recent years between his own solo career and that of his band, Junip. Although that group initially took a backseat to González's own work, the reverse has been true for a long spell. This week's release of González's Vestiges & Claws marks the musician's first solo album in over seven years, a long-awaited follow-up to 2007's Our Nature. On Vestiges & Claws, González thoughtfully reflects on life, examining all angles of interaction and introspection.

FUV's New Dig: Father John Misty

by Darren DeVivo

I Love You, Honeybear
Father John Misty

Sub Pop (US) and Bella Union (Europe)

Father John Misty, the singer and songwriter Josh Tillman, has returned with an adventurous second album under that moniker that reinforces the fiercely inventive promise of his 2012 debut, Fear Fun. This sophomore effort, I Love You, Honeybear, is a song cycle about love, but don’t expect sappy sentiments. Instead, Tillman offers declarations that are slightly askew and far from typical, but always soulful and deeply personal. The songs are filled with an intense honesty that celebrates the grandeur of love, but refuses to hide the darker side of relationships.

As Father John Misty, Tillman pulls no punches on I Love You, Honeybear. He openly shares his naivety, vulnerability, and flaws. He reveals his deepest emotions and gives equal time to both giddy elation and underlying reservations about relationships. Tillman also isn’t shy about pointing out his partner’s same qualities.

FUV's New Dig: Belle and Sebastian

by Darren DeVivo
Photo by Søren Solkær

Girls in Peacetime Want To Dance
Belle And Sebastian
Matador Records

For nearly two decades, Belle and Sebastian has been one of Scotland's most endearing and literate bands. These veteran indie-pop darlings, steered by Stuart Murdoch, now present Girls in Peacetime Want To Dance, their first studio album of new material in five years.

FUV's New Dig: The Lone Bellow

by Darren DeVivo
Photo by Steve Sebring

Then Came The Morning
The Lone Bellow
Descendant Records

The Lone Bellow, a Brooklyn trio with southern roots and city smarts, has returned with a glorious sophomore album, Then Came The Morning. Arriving two years after their self-titled debut, the threesome's latest effort bursts forth with the welcoming warmth of the rising sun, making the title seem more a declaration than just a name.