Listener Supported Public Media from Fordham University

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Tunein
  • YouTube
  • Flickr
  • RSS

The WFUV Annual Gala

Each spring, the WFUV Advisory Board invites you to join them in an evening celebrating the contributions of notable members of the music, news and sports communities.

2014 Honorees: Mavis Staples, Scott Simon, Verne Lundquist and Katherine Oliver
[recap and photos here]


2014 Honorees

WFUV held our seventh Annual Gala at Gotham Hall on Thursday, May 8, 2014. This year we honored Rock and Roll Hall of Famer, Grammy winner and civil rights icon Mavis Staples as WFUV Artist of the Year. We also honored journalist and NPR reporter Scott Simon as recipient of the Charles Osgood Lifetime Achievement Award in Broadcast Journalism; sportscaster Verne Lundquist as recipient of the Vin Scully Lifetime Achievement Award in Sports Broadcasting; and Katherine Oliver, former Commissioner of The New York City Mayor's Office of Film, Theatre and Broadcasting and principal partner at Bloomberg Associates, as the recipient of the Community Service Award.

The evening included a cocktail hour, live auction, awards presentations, dinner, and of course a performance by honoree Mavis Staples and her band.
For questions about the Gala, please contact us at


Past Events:

Sixth Annual Gala: May 9, 2013 at the Edison Ballroom. Honoring musician Rosanne Cash, newscaster Sam Donaldson,  sportscaster Bob Costas and honoree The Agnes Varis Charitable Trust.

Fifth Annual Gala: May 10, 2012 at Gotham Hall. Honoring musician Chris Isaak, newscaster Christiane Amanpour,  sportscaster Al Michaels and honoree Michael Dorf.

Fourth Annual Gala: May 2, 2011 at Tribeca 360°. Honoring musicians Los Lobos, newscaster Tom Brokaw and sportscaster Pat Summerall.

Third Annual Gala: May 5, 2010 at Gotham Hall. Honoring musician Levon Helm, newscaster Bob Schieffer and sportscaster Ernie Harwell.

Second Annual Gala: May 6, 2009 at The Puck Building, honoring musician Paul Simon, sportscaster Dick Enberg and PBS newsman Jim Lehrer.

First Annual Gala: April 29, 2008 at Sotheby's, honoring musician Emmylou Harris, CBS host Charles Osgood and sportscaster Vin Scully.