Listener Supported Public Media from Fordham University

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Tunein
  • YouTube
  • Flickr
  • RSS

New Music Monday Gets Ready For A Big September

by Quinn Harris

New Music Monday is a collection of the best new releases in music each week. We share them with you every Monday, every hour on WFUV.

Brett Dennen - "Wild Child"

"Wild Child" is a track from Brett Dennen's newest album, Smoke & Mirrors, out October 22nd. It's his fifth album and was inspired by the wilderness of his Northern California mountain home. Perhaps due to his being frequently compared to Jack Johnson and John Mayer, on "Wild Child" Dennen sings "I love the country / I wanna run free / I don't want to live up to anyone's plan," and we here at FUV like his new fun and carefree style.

Deer Tick - "The Dream's in the Ditch"

"The Dream's in the Ditch" is a new Deer Tick song written by guitarist Ian O'Neil. It comes from their newest record, Negativity, out September 24th. Negativity was produced by Steve Berlin (a one time member of The Blasters) and marks a new turn for the band. The album is much darker than the band's previous releases, stemming from a rough year for lead singer John McCauley. That might explain the title of Negativity, but we have nothing negative to say about "The Dream's in the Ditch." Rather than their typical booze-soaked romps, the song is a more crafted pop tune that marks an entirely new side of Deer Tick. 

Elvis Costello & the Roots - "Walk Us Uptown"

Elvis Costello and the Roots first began collaborating while playing together on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon, which went so well that they decided to make a full album together.  Our first taste of that album is "Walk Us Uptown." The song begins with an odd array of sound effects (like the volume button of a Mac computer) before launching into the classically gruff Costello voice and soul-funk backing by the Roots. The full length Wise Up Ghost comes out September 17th and we are hoping that instead of suffering the fate of his criminally ignored last album, National Ransom, this record will give Elvis Costello some more of the later career recognition he deserves. 

Okkervil River - "Stay Young"

"Stay Young" is the next single from Austin, Texas band Okkervil River. The band has had an interesting career since forming in 1998, from recording a fantastic record with infamous garage rocker Roky Erickson to releasing a critically acclaimed, genre-bending album (I Am Very Far) in 2011. On The Silver Gymnasium, the band is entering new territory yet again; according to the band, it's a concept album that "takes place in 1986 in a small town in New Hampshire." "Stay Young" is a lush, beautiful tune that has us extremely excited for the September 3rd release of The Silver Gymnasium